Chicken Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
MommaHen
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be raising Dominique's. I am new at this. Could anyone tell me at about what age they start laying?

Also I have a coop and run but would like to let them out to free range occasionally in our yard. We have just over an acre.
How do I get them back into the coop and / or keep them from straying too far out of range? I plan to only let them free-range when I am outside with them.

·
Premium Member
3,157 Posts
They'll lay around 21 weeks old. As for free ranging, just keep them penned for at least 2 weeks before free ranging and they will go into the coop automatically after free ranging, before the sun goes down.

·
Banned
31 Posts

·
MommaHen
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
BuffaloGal said:
The Dominique Club of America is taking a census to get an idea how many birds are out there; if you have breeding age birds, please consider printing one off and sending it in. Club membership not required, we want to hear from you. :)
(edited) Hmmm, that did not work worth a flip. Let me hunt up a URL...

https://attachment.fbsbx.com/file_d...inline=1&ext=1365137527&hash=ASsmzRjPvtaGj__4
Well, my girls are only a few weeks old, so not of breeding age yet. I would love to have the link though.

·
Registered
691 Posts
I will be raising Dominique's. I am new at this. Could anyone tell me at about what age they start laying?

Also I have a coop and run but would like to let them out to free range occasionally in our yard. We have just over an acre.
How do I get them back into the coop and / or keep them from straying too far out of range? I plan to only let them free-range when I am outside with them.