Chicken Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my polish. She is 10 months old. I feel awful for her.
Her spine is crooked and hump backed and her tail stays to one side. Do you think she will ever lay? I hope she is not in any pain because of her deformities. Poor Polly!

Attachments

·
Registered
468 Posts
I'm not a Vet but I don't see why that would stop her from laying. However your best bet would be to take her to a professional like a Vet or Vet tech and ask this question. They would know a whole lot more about it. But in your picture it looks as if just the spine is involved, not the pelvis. The pelvis seems intact. I would GUESS because the pelvis seems normal she would be able to lay normally but I'm no where near a professional. That would be my guess if she we're mine.

·
Premium Member
4,193 Posts
I'm a vet licensed in NJ. I don't see why the tail would prevent laying, but if her back/spine is not straight then that could be a problem down the road. I guess my bigger question is why she is like this. Folate deficiency can cause problems like this. Folate is a B vitamin. Is there any reason to suspect problems with her mother? You would need radiographs to get more information to assess properly. They are often $150 or more.

·
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank EV, I never saw her mother. I bought her as a chick from Schafer Farms in Flemington, NJ. I don't know why she turned out like this. A recessive gene? I fed her chick starter until 20 weeks and now she eats layer feed with oyster shells. None of her friends in the flock look like this so I assume it was passed down. I don't really care too much about her laying (I was just more curious about her condition) as she is my favorite girl but I just hope she isn't in any pain. I guess it is too late to supplement anything now though. Thanks for any information. Much appreciated.

Wondering if anyone else has had a bird like this? Did they live a full life?