Chicken Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My family has always had chickens while I was growing up so I'm not a complete newbie at this, but back then the biggest flock we ever had was about 12 birds so it didn't take much thinking. Well now I've somehow become a chicken farmer and have 67 hens of my own, so I'm still sort of learning how to manage a much larger flock. I mostly have Rhode Island Red & Rhode Island White crosses, but also a few Buff Orpingtons, 4 Black Australorps, 12 Tetra Tints, and 15 Golden Comets. Half of them aren't laying yet but will be in another month or so. The other half are laying and I sell the eggs to friends and neighbors and customers that come in to my mom's store in our small town. I have a lot of egg customers. Who doesn't love fresh eggs? But anyway, I digress. That's just a bit of background, now on to the point:

My hens are of course cage free but aren't completely free range. I have the flock separated in half and they each have a big roomy coop and an outdoor fenced in dirt yard. So they have lots of space to move around and they get sun and fresh air and can scratch in the dirt and dust and all that, but they don't get a lot of food from their outside area. I do throw them grass clippings and weeds and culled veggies from the garden, plus table scraps and whatever else I come up with.