Chicken Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a complete chicken novice. We are reading madly and learning as we go. I have 7 wk old Polish Golden Lace hens who are nicely feathered out. Their "bonnets" don't allow them to see well at all. I knew they would have the beautiful feathering but it's so dense. For you Polish chicken owners, (don't laugh) can I cut their bangs so they can see better? Any suggestions would be very welcome.

Attachments

·
Administrator
20,754 Posts
As a former Silkie breeder, no laughing coming from me.

Yes, you can trim them. You want to trim enough that looking straight on you can see their eyes. If you can see them then you know they can see.

The most intimidating part is trying not to get them with the scissors especially if they are fighting you about the trim.

And welcome to the forum. We hope you stick around and regale us with your adventures in to poultry keeping.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for your comments. I am new to this chicken thing, and strangely i am fascinated, they have interesting personalities and habits. I have held them since they were a couple of weeks and gone through pasty butt, etc. I talk to them constantly and use the same voice and phrase when feeding "Mornin' Girls" in a low voice and drawn out words..... they come right away. They calm the minute I pick them up and hold/cuddle them, they even roost on my arm. I don't think it will be a problem cutting the "bangs" I handle them very slowly and gently and never let them feel as if they will fall. The only birds I have owned was Macaws and large cockatoos. Chickens are certainly different.
Do you think their personalities will change once they can see?

·
Administrator
20,754 Posts