Coop incorporations and advice for newbie

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by jacobowens1994, Dec 12, 2019.

1. jacobowens1994

jacobowens1994 New Member

Hello everyone I am new to chickens and bought my son 3 chicks about 5 weeks ago I have been slowly building there coop and am close to having it finished. I wish I would have joined this before I started anyways what are some things you would absolutely include in your coop and what’s some advice on raising chickens you’d wish you had!?
    I will try to get some pics posted ASAP on my progress and the girls! Thanks

2. robin416

robin416 Administrator Staff Member

Welcome to the forum. Knowing the dimensions of your coop would help you decide what tweeks to make.

What I had with mine from the get go was a protected run attached to their coop. That way if there was any kind of threat in the area I could keep them safe and they didn't have to be locked up in the coop.

Not knowing how much you've taught yourself already it's kind of hard to give advice.

We all face different challenges in different parts of the country so sometimes what I might suggest is way off base if you live way up in the NW and I live down in the SE.

3. jacobowens1994

I do plan on adding a run the coop it is 4x4 and was built a little off of the ground. I plan on adding a 4 ft run for them it’s only for 3 hens unfortunately I live in the city and am hoping no one calls the city on me I live in southern Ca
    Super hot summers and mildly cold winters. I am having Trouble posting pics

4. robin416

Glad you figured out the pic posting problem. There is another that uses tapatalk and can't post pics.

Good floor space for the three. For a roost I always used a 2X4 with the wide side for my birds to rest on.

Because of your location you will probably need to do something about heat build up in the coop especially if you use a dark roofing material. Winter won't be an issue for you at all.