Chicken Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I'm kind of new to chickens, and in fact I haven't even gotten my chicks yet. I am still trying to figure out if I should buy or build my coop. What do you guys think, and where should I buy my coop or instructions from? Thanks!

Tha

·
172 Posts
I don't have a build or buy answer, but take a look at Craig's list in your area under chicken. My area has lots of people building chicken coops. Some are pretty good looking.

·
Premium Member
3,157 Posts
I built mine for $4. I used recycled wood we had from a small barn that fell and spent $4 on hinges.

·
Flocker
1,588 Posts
Build, but either build elevated, or dig down some and build. Predators will dig in to kill chickens. Best advise, is find someone with one you like, and ask them to help you with one. Chicken people are good people!!

·
Premium Member
1,558 Posts
I prefer building. I'm not to skilled when it comes to working with my hands and I considered buying, but I got some help from friends and it worked out nicely.

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts