Choosing A Breed

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by BLG, Aug 27, 2012.

1. BLG

BLG New Member

Hi, I'm interested in having a small sustainable farm and having chickens is at the top of my list. I would like a chicken that needs little-to-no management and can graze in the pasture.

I would like eggs and some meat too. Perhaps I'll need to have two different breeds to accomplish that but if one breed could be a happy balance between the two that would be good. I would like something hardy that can stand the Texas weather and is not susceptible to disease etc. I'm willing to trade off on egg and meat production for a bird that can meet those more important criteria. I'm totally new to this so I really am starting at ground zero. What suggestions do you guys have for me?

2. AuroraHawk

AuroraHawk Junior Member

3. Sundancers

Sundancers New Member

You need to look into duel purpose chicken breeds ... meat and eggs from the same bird.

4. Energyvet

Energyvet New Member

Pickin Chicken app is great. You put in what you want as far as egg size, color and they tell you the best breeds to accomplish that. I use it all the time, just to learn more about chicken breeds.

5. creeperolie

creeperolie New Member

I agree with energyvet. The Pickin Chicken app is great!!!

6. Sundancers

Sundancers New Member

Oh My gosh ... I thought this was a joke!

To be honest ... (while many things come to mind) ... I don't know what to say ... :eek:

7. Energyvet

Energyvet New Member

Too funny. It is a great app though. :)

8. earlyt89

earlyt89 New Member

I Personally believe first time owners should start with something like production reds or dominiquers and as well as a hardy bird buy a few game fowl and breed them into your stock. The babies will produce your larger brown eggs but have the immune system traits of gamefowl

9. Happeesupermom

Happeesupermom Happee ChickenSuperMomma