Chicken Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is the best way to keep my chickens from pooping all over the watering can? It's winter here and the watering can is on a warmer, but the "girls" like to sit on top of it and then they poop in the water. I change the water daily but I get tired of chicken poop everywhere....any suggestions?

·
Registered
55 Posts
bantylover said:
What is the best way to keep my chickens from pooping all over the watering can? It's winter here and the watering can is on a warmer, but the "girls" like to sit on top of it and then they poop in the water. I change the water daily but I get tired of chicken poop everywhere....any suggestions?
(note: I'm no expert) is it a hanging watered? if not, perhaps put something over it like a big cardboard box? or something wobbly they won't want to roost on like tin foil . if yes, try offering them alternative and enviting roosts???

·
Registered
13 Posts
I would agree. Placing something over it or possibly putting something higher around it for them to roost on. I have had the same problem in the past. It's hard to keep it poop free

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Watering Can & Chicken Poop

My watering can can't be hung because of the cold it's 10 degrees here in Iowa, I did try and put foil on it and cardboard but I have smart chickens and they removed both of those I guess I will have to "build" a table over it. I was trying not to do that but I think it's probably the best answer, I'll just have to make it a little larger than the rim of the watering can. Thanks for all your suggestion though!!!:)

·
Premium Member
4,193 Posts
I just prop mine up about 2 inches off the ground on an upside down food bowl. Seems to keep out all the nasties and doesn't freeze as easily.

·
106 Posts
Back high;