Broken leg (i think)

Discussion in 'Emergencies, Illness, Meds & Cures' started by garryowen, Dec 1, 2012.

1. garryowen

garryowen New Member

I have a young lavender Orpington who I think may have broken her leg. I noticed this morning. She does not walk on her foot anymore. She walks on her whole leg. Almost like she is walking in her elbow. Not sure how else to explain it. What should I do? I'm new to keeping chickenschickens.

2. Energyvet

Energyvet New Member

Post a pic. Might be bumble foot not a break. If its s break there are many different scenarios.

3. garryowen

garryowen New Member

Not sure if this shows the problem. I took a video but I can figure out how to upload it.

image-452430766.jpg

4. garryowen

garryowen New Member

She is limping around with it on the ground the way you see it.

5. rob

rob New Member

certainly looks very odd. have you checked it ?

6. garryowen

garryowen New Member

I'm very new to this I would not even know what to check. I don't want to grab at her until I have a better idea what my course of action is going to be. I don't want to see her suffer but I would like to not have to kill her either. Any advise would be great.

7. Kellence

Kellence New Member

Look up bumble foot and scaley leg see if it has any of them symptoms if so try treatment for them 1st and see if it improves.

8. toybarons

toybarons I luv Polish & Houdans

From the angle, it looks like a slipped tendon. It can also be Mereks.
    Mereks disease affects young birds and up to birds as old as a year. I causes the leg to become paralyized. If you touch the leg and it feels stiff yet you may still see movement in the toes, it may be Mereks. If it is, the condition will spread to the other leg and possibly the wings.