Chicken Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new at this, this spring. I need some advice from experienced chicken people. I bought six, 5 week old, Americauna chicks from a guy in town that hatched them from eggs he bought from a guy in Anchorage. Over the past week and a half since I bought them, three have died. They start bleeding from the vent and die. It's not prolapsed vent, nothing swollen, red, or hanging out, and there's no pecking involved. I also bought twelve, two week old chicks from someone else, kept them separate from the older chicks, and they are doing fine. I paid $40 for those six chicks and they are like pets to me. Any ideas would be very, very appreciated.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for the replies; I have researched it and I am sure you are both correct. I had heard of the disease but mistakenly thought if they were on medicated starter it would protect them from it. It was hard watching them die and not knowing what to do. It's even harder now, now that I know I could of given them Cordi and they would of lived. I didn't realize I should of taken a college course in raising chicks and not just reading up on it myself before buying them. Thanks again....

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts