Best treadle feeder?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering' started by Bobochick, Jan 7, 2020.

1. Bobochick

Bobochick New Member

Hi folks,

I have a coop with 3 ISA browns and 4 silkies, ages ranging from 5-10 weeks old. I'm new to chickens, but recently moved into a house with an excellent chicken coop so giving it a go!

At the moment I'm using a simple pipe gravity feeder and plastic gravity water feeder.

Unfortunately, we have noticed some mice getting around and despite putting out baits and traps in the coop (while our chickens are out free ranging of course), they're still around!

Have read that automatic treadle feeders can help with this - wondering if you have a point of view on the best kind/brand?

Thanks in advance!

2. robin416

robin416 Administrator Staff Member

I've never even heard of them.

What you need to do is put the bait out and leave it out. Put it in places they can't get to it. I had special bait boxes that the mice could get in but the chickens couldn't. I was also able to put bait under my coop floor where the chickens couldn't go but most of the mice lived.

And use ag bait, don't use the household stuff. Ag bait is safer. Tomcat is one of the Ag baits. Havoc is another.

3. Sylie

Sylie Super Moderator Staff Member

agreed, put the bait and traps where the chickens can't get it but the mice can. If you only have it out during the day, the mice aren't as likely to get to it, they prefer to feed at night or in the dark.

Maryellen likes this.
  4. Maryellen

Maryellen Well-Known Member

Watch the 3 isa browns as they mature,sometimes they will beat up on the silkies.

Mice are pretty smart and if they see one of their own killed in a trap they will avoid the trap. Some folks make traps out of 5 gal buckets and round spools and fill the bucket with water halfway, when the mice climb up the ramp and onto.the spool to get to peanut butter on the middle of the spool it rolls and the mouse falls in the bucket and drowns.