Beginner here. Any tips

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by Brian maxwell, Dec 2, 2019.

1. Brian maxwell

Brian maxwell New Member

Looking to start raising chickens. I have the setup for it. Already have little chic holder with heater and then a bigger holding cage for when they out grow the little brooder box. Just looking for some beginner tips. Some do's and dont's. Thanks in advance

2. robin416

robin416 Administrator Staff Member

Welcome to the forum, Brian.

A little more information would be helpful. What kind of heater? Normally a 60 watt bulb is all that is needed to keep them warm enough when indoors.

Cage? What kind of cage? How big is it? Chickens are normally kept in coops, buildings large enough to accomodate them comfortably during bad weather. 4 square feet of open floor space is the standard for large fowl.

You will need feeders and waterers. There are many styles to choose from.

Chicks need chick starter feed for the large amount of growing they do in a short period of time. Adult birds need other adult feed.

3. Sylie

Sylie Super Moderator Staff Member

Hello Brian! Welcome

How many chicks are you looking at? Where do you live (don't need specifics but there are special considerations for colder climates)? What kind of birds? (some breeds are hardier than others for cold and heat) Like Robin said, chicks need special feed, some brands call it starter feed, some call it chick feed, some call it chick starter, just make sure it's for babies and not a "grower/finisher", it needs to be starter.

I ask a repeat of Robin's question also, what kind of heater are you talking about? if you are using a heat lamp like the ones with the silver bell that you just put a light bulb in then the distance from the chicks to the lamp determines how high a wattage you need. Maybe you have a chick warmer? In which case, plug and play.