Chicken Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! Newbie here. I'm from the Philippines and I'm also into Bantam raising. I managed to find this forum when I googled for a bantam forum site.

Please pardon this query if it has been asked before:
I paired an OEG cock to a regular sized crested hen. They mated and now I have some eggs.

My question are given that the eggs were fertilized and will hatch:
1. Will i be able to get a bantam sized crested offsping?
2. What will be the expected size of most the offsprings?
3. Will the F1s be fertile or sterile?

Thanks in advance.

·
441 Posts
Welcome :)
My feeling is that you will get a mix - some mid-sized birds neither bantam or standard, some large and perhaps a few tiny ones.

·
Registered
80 Posts
My feeling is that you will get a mix - some mid-sized birds neither bantam or standard, some large and perhaps a few tiny ones.
I agree with Bird_slave.

If you cross back to the bantam then that offspring will be smaller etc.

As to will they be fertile or sterile are you asking can they be fertile, and yes they can. No reason why they would be Sterile!

Welcome to the Forum!

·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I agree with Bird_slave.

If you cross back to the bantam then that offspring will be smaller etc.

As to will they be fertile or sterile are you asking can they be fertile, and yes they can. No reason why they would be Sterile!

Welcome to the Forum!
welcome to the forum.
Welcome to chicken land! Hope you enjoy your visit!
Thank you for the warm welcome.:)

I am expecting the eggs to hatch anytime within this week. I got 6 eggs being incubated by my regular hen but i slipped a couple of bantam eggs to see if the eggs are still good.

So its just like "elimination of the gene" game. When I get a mid-sized hen, I'll just pair it up with another bantam until i get a smaller sized.;)