Chicken Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I'm raising about 20 Cornish rock chicks and its my first time with meat birds. I've raised dozens of laying breeds and never had an issue with sick birds. I noticed yesterday though all of my meat chicks (2 weeks old) are bald on their bellies. I change their bedding often and they are separated from the big girls. Then last night I had one dead when I went out when earlier they all looked fine, other than the baldness. This morning I noticed a little blood in the poops on the floor of the shed. I also have 6 laying pullets that are the same age in with them. Any ideas what's going on? We don't medicate at all, except for holistic meds. Thank you!

·
Premium Member
3,157 Posts
Cornish X are weird birds to raise. The bald bellies is normal. They grow so fast, and between the feathers growing slower than the chicks and the weight of the chick it just happens. As for the blood ........ What are you feeding ? how often are you feeding ? Have you given any treats ?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks so much for the help!! The Cornish birds kinda creep me out honestly! They just seem abnormal or something. Is there another good meat breed I can try next time?

Poops look to be normal so thanks for that info. I had never seen blood in poop before so it freaked me out.

·
Premium Member
3,157 Posts
Thanks so much for the help!! The Cornish birds kinda creep me out honestly! They just seem abnormal or something. Is there another good meat breed I can try next time?

Poops look to be normal so thanks for that info. I had never seen blood in poop before so it freaked me out.
lol yeah I dont like the cornish X either, I agree they are creepy. Out of the roosters I butchered last year, the Delaware, Barred Rock, and Dominque had the most meat. I want to say they were about 22 weeks old when we butchered. We did some production reds too but they were skinny.

·