Chicken Forum banner
1 - 20 of 191 Posts

·
Backyard Breeder
1,329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks. I thought I would start a thread where we can share pics and discuss pure bred Ameraucanas.
I am just getting started with Lavenders and am hoping to learn from some more experienced breeders. I have Blacks, Blacks Split to Lavender and Lavender.

Looking forward to everyones input. :)

Attachments

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
They're gorgeous! My Josie is a pure breed that was given to me last late September. She doesn't have quite the fluff under the chin that I see others have though. Do love her chitter. She's a sweet girl. Very hard to get a picture of her! Camera shy. ;)

·
Registered
630 Posts
I like the BBS Ameraucanas. I don't have any at this time, but I plan on getting some when I move someplace cooler. It gets well over the 100's mark here in the summer. I love their fluffy beards, lol. They're so cute. :)

·
Backyard Breeder
1,329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have AMs and Marans and they do pretty well here in Houston heat. My coops and runs are shaded though so that helps.

I have a roo that I am not sure if he is a split or a pure Black. I have only hatched one egg from his girls and it was a Black split. Hopefully he is a split so I can get some Lavs from him and his 2 Lav hens. If he is a pure Black then I might get some Blues and and do the BBS thing.

·
Backyard Breeder
1,329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I have two. I hope they are Ameraucanas because that's what the store said they were. We love them no matter what, very sweet but yes chatty. My most chatty bird and their feathery faces are so funny!

View attachment 11865

View attachment 11866

When did yours start laying?