Chicken Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It was my plan this year to build a hoophouse, but the man who was supposed to build it started it and never came back. I've been kinda just waiting hoping he would show up and finish the job, but so far nothing.

This would be my first year ever really trying to start a garden, I was sooooo excited! We've grown some things indoor, but not the same. Now, here's my dilemma...I want to still plant BUT

1. I have waited so long and am a complete novice at this and am wondering if I'm too late (especially for the leafy greens that I was really looking forward to).

2. I have a couple of dairy goats so some type of goat proof fencing MUST be put up before I can get anything going. I can make a fence out of pallets but it still messes up my schedule a bit.

So for all you green thumbs out there (or not so green ;), please some words of encouragement :( I am kinda bummed that I haven't been able to get started yet. And what can I still plant and what am I too late for (supposing I get everything together by the end of the month) I just someone to get me going again. I know it's worth it, but a tad discouraged at this point.

Thank you in advance!!

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
I guess for starters, where are you located? Where I'm at in Upper Michigan (above Wisconsin), we'll still be getting frost well into June so we don't plant anything outside until mid-June. I just started my seeds today. Meant to get it done sooner but didn't have time.

·
Premium Member
3,157 Posts