Virginia 2 Australorp Roos Free

Discussion in 'Chickens' started by Overmountain1, Jun 23, 2020.

1. Overmountain1

Overmountain1 Member

These two have been hand raised together (with the bantam friends pictured) and, at least so far, are still not overly rough with each other as well as with the other chickens. They will allow for necessary handling and usually enjoy the lovings (as long as you snag them fast enough of course!) In fact they love to football-chicken around with my son! Especially Checkers. Ha! I believe they are 9? Weeks old- 10 at most- so still good and young too. We call them Checkers and Penn, but hey, that’s up to you.
    Ideally they’d go someplace as breeders or flock protectors. I believe they have the potential to be a 1 & 2 rooster together with minimal probs, but I’m no expert. I’m sure we have some more shots around if you want more and if not it’s no trouble to go take some more. Any more ?s just ask! Thanks for looking!

As for the why- we already have one giant roo (bigger than these two even) who is king, and also a bantam roo. And only 4 hens total to go around so no way that can work for us- or our neighbors! The people who first said ‘if we DID’ that they would take them but have decided they do not have room for more last minute- leaving us clueless on literally the day we planned to take them up there... It’s ok (briefly) just yet, but we do need to rehome. Thanks again!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Sylie

Sylie Super Moderator Staff Member

Dang I wish I could take one :( I would love to have a rooster that might just put my spunky hens in their places and keep the chicken hawks away. I can't have roo's though

Thomas Lippert likes this.

3. Overmountain1

Overmountain1 Member

Awww- I am grateful we live in the county here vs the town, so I can keep as many as I want.... or have to! Lol. I’m grateful the house next door is between owners too.