Why do chickens cackle when they lay an egg?

Discussion in 'General Chicken Discussion' started by bevie55, Jul 26, 2012.

1. bevie55

bevie55 Bevie

I would like some logical explanations for why hens cackle when they lay an egg. Some imaginary answers would be good too.

2. Apyl

Apyl New Member

I can imagine they are probubly either 1) in pain from trying to push that huge thing out or 2) proud they pushed that huge thing out lol .

3. UncleJoe

UncleJoe New Member

Not being a woman I have no first hand experience but if I understand the process, pushing out a young one can be rather painful. Maybe that's a chickens way of crying out in pain. :)

4. Sundancers

Sundancers New Member

I have no clue as to way ... lol

5. Lady_Alia

Lady_Alia New Member

Misery loves company. Since she's in misery she's gonna make sure everyone else is too! lol

6. tdepointe

tdepointe New Member

I have always told the kids it was a victory dance, when they strut around and cackle after they lay an egg.

7. 7chicks

7chicks New Member

Mine must be goofy! Most of them cackle with no egg in sight and not a single hen in the nest box either.

8. viktimh

viktimh New Member

I agree with 7chicks. Mine seem to when they can't find the others or think one of the others is laying my thought was cheering/encouraging them on. Idk I'm new to this. ;)

9. Fl_Silkie_mommie

Fl_Silkie_mommie Junior Member

I've heard my cluck.. No cackles yet. I guess they do it for the egg.

10. Roseann

Roseann Junior Member

Funny because my free ranging hens just recently started to lay their eggs on my backporch chairs. So now I can actually hear them right after they lay their eggs. My kids (twins aged 19) asked me just yesterday why do they cluck so loud after they lay an egg and I said, "because their so proud and want to yell it from the rooftops!"