When do you become a "farmer" or "rancher"?

Discussion in 'General Chicken Discussion' started by Happeesupermom, Nov 23, 2012.

1. Happeesupermom

Happeesupermom Happee ChickenSuperMomma

Just curious.... Say you have an acre of land, outside city limits & you keep chickens & have a small garden. Can you call yourself a farmer or rancher? Oh, and you own a riding mower! LOL

I know NOTHING about raising any animals (I'm still learning about my 11 chickens), or growing anything (I've managed to kill many plants, but am having a little success with a few).

Just curious. LOL :p

2. Happeesupermom

Would it matter if I went out & bought a pair of denim overalls? Hahaha....

3. sandra

sandra New Member

I'm pondering the same thing LOL. I have four chickens, two swans, two geese, five ducks, two cats, a Pygmy goat and a little brown snake. All of these are currently pets. Don't own any denim overalls yet. Oh did the garden thing this past season, heat did the crops in. Most of the time I can grow tomatoes. But not so good with anything else yet. Have four acres of cleared land. I think maybe I'm a hoppy farmer so far. Confused and winging it, definitely! Might consider the overalls.

4. Happeesupermom

LOL. Well, if overalls will make me a better chicken farmer, then I'll get some! :p

I've been thinking about getting a goat, but I don't know anything about them. I'll have to do some research. :)

5. KenimokPoultry

KenimokPoultry New Member

Go get yourself some cowboy boots, you'll be a rancher for sure. LMAO. This is the stupidest thing I have ever seen. Our front lawn is an acre.... Sorry. It's something you're born with you cant just buy a couple chickens and become a farmer. Try again.

6. Happeesupermom

Haha. Hadn't thought about the cowboy boots!

7. sandra

sandra New Member

Goats are really neat. The one I have is so smart and playful. But they do have horns and they do get awnry from time to time.