What breed of chicken is my new fluffy roo?

Discussion in 'What Breed/Gender is This?' started by ChickenAddiction, Sep 10, 2012.

1. ChickenAddiction

ChickenAddiction New Member

Hi all, it's great to find a new chicken community to learn from. I have a gorgeous rooster that my hubby got for me and I was hoping that someone here could tell me what breed he is. He is big & beautiful with feathers all the way down his legs and feet. We were thinking he might be a French Black Copper Maran but really have no idea as we are pretty new to having chickens. Thank you for your help.

ChickenAddiction

Attached Files:

2. TinyHouse

TinyHouse New Member

He is gorgeous! I'm new to chickens also so I have no idea, but I'll be waiting to hear what the experts say!

3. ChickenAddiction

Thank you very much :) A friend of my husband had him and he was downsizing and they gave him to me because they knew how much I loved him. I hope someone knows.... because he is the only one I have that I don't know for sure what he is.

4. ChickenAddiction

Sad not to see an answer to my post.... I would really like to know what kind of roo he is...

5. madman

madman New Member

Hi there I'm not the best of telling the breed of chickens but I think I could be a brahma or a Cochin hope this helps have you got any more pics swell love the colour

6. redneckwildman

redneckwildman New Member

Is that a BBred cochin? Black Breasted Red? It looks like the same colors as one

It has an extra toe? it looks like a Cochin to me. I'll have to get out my Breed Standards book

7. Roslyn

Roslyn A Round American Woman

My vote is a Partridge Cochin.

8. Buffy_Orpington

Buffy_Orpington New Member

Black Copper Maran except the White tail feathers he looks just like my Roo. . Elvis does his crow sound horse or rough?? Not like you think it will??