Very much a newbie here...intro

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by dbell, Nov 15, 2012.

1. dbell

dbell New Member

I have recently dove into the chicken ownership portion of my second childhood. I purchased 10 red star hens, 13 weeks old, about 4 weeks ago. I did not have my coop ready, so my neighbor let me put them in his empty coop. After about 3 weeks these guys gave me my first egg...woohoo...I made an omelet. My coop was completed, we moved them, they seem to be happy campers. I have been getting 2 eggs a day since I moved them. My problem....there was no nesting box in my buddy's coop, the little ladies just drop on the scratched up dirt floor. When they were moved to the new coop, I had not completed my nesting box and they still dropped them things on the ground...now I can not get them to lay the eggs in the new nesting box. Yes, I have put in a couple of fake eggs. HELP!!

2. rob

rob New Member

hello and welcome.

3. robopetz

robopetz New Member

Hi an welcome. Congrats on the eggs!

4. chickflick

chickflick New Member

Old habits are hard to break. Don't know what to tell you how to break it. Make it a nice safe place to lay. Are the boxes big enough. Maybe put their own eggs in the box and put them in the box with the eggs. Maybe doing this a few times, someone will get the hint and the others will follow.

5. 7chicks

7chicks New Member

Welcome and congratulations on joining chicken land. :) Chickens are so funny. They learn new habits fast but hopefully with some time and adjusting they'll figure it out. Just keep reintroducing them to those nest boxes, especially if you can catch them acting like they are getting ready to work on their egg. Like chickflick mentioned, put their eggs in the nest box and show them. Chickens really are rather smart. They'll get the hang of it. They just need to be shown what to do. Good luck. :)

Last edited: Nov 16, 2012
  6. fuzziebutt

fuzziebutt Flocker