RIR not moving

Discussion in 'Emergencies, Illness, Meds & Cures' started by Lissa, Nov 24, 2012.

1. Lissa

Lissa Junior Member

Hey there, My RIR was fine this morning and now she isn't moving.
    She is standing in one place, her back seems arched and hard and her stools are watery.
    The other birds in the flock are playing as usual. Any ideas? Thanks for your help!

2. Bird_slave

Bird_slave Junior Member

Lissa, have you checked her for being eggbound?

3. Lissa

Lissa Junior Member

No, how do I do that? Sorry, I am new to all of this. She laid yesterday mid morning. I could google it but thought I would come to the experts first. Thanks!

4. Bird_slave

Bird_slave Junior Member

First, see if you can feel an egg by pushing gently but firmly on her abdomen, just above and between her legs. Also, check for distension around her vent. Still not sure? Dip your finger in mineral oil, vaseline, KY jelly or similiar product (NOTHING with lidocaine in it).and insert it as far as you can into her vent (cloaca). IF you find what you feel is a stuck egg, first try soaking her in a warm water bath; massaging her abdomen as much as she'll allow and you can manage. If that doesn't help her pass the egg, you'll have to go to the icky part.
    Again, lubricate your finger and her vent well (and the end of the egg that you can reach) with the petroleum jelly or mineral oil to help her pass the egg. You can also gently push up into her abdomen with your other hand to try to work the egg toward the vent. In the worst case, you might have to break the egg inside her if you can reach it, and remove the pieces of shell, but that may cause damage to her vent/cloaca so should only be a done as a last resort. If you have to do this rinse her vent area with hydrogen peroxide or spray it well with vetericyn afterwards to prevent infection.