Right Breast enlarged?

Discussion in 'Emergencies, Illness, Meds & Cures' started by Happeesupermom, Sep 30, 2012.

1. Happeesupermom

Happeesupermom Happee ChickenSuperMomma

It seems that several of my pullets (I think they're all about a month old) have their right "breast" a little larger than their left. At first, I thought they just had their feathers "fluffed" a little on one side, but as I took a closer look and started feeling them, I realized it is actually enlarged.

Is this normal?? Several of my girls have this. I wondered if it might be their crop was enlarged? (I still haven't learned enough about chicken anatomy to know for sure!) So, I've started to crush dried egg shells and add a little to their feed. Is this OK? Any ideas or suggestions? Is this normal? Am I just overreacting?

I'm still new to this Chicken World, so any help is appreciated.

2. oakwood

oakwood New Member

It is their crops , they are full of food .
    Look at them first thing in the morning you will see the bump gone down because they would have digested their food .

3. Happeesupermom

Could it be that I'm OVER-feeding them? I thought I'm supposed to keep food & water available to them all the time. Should I limit their food supply to times of day? (Actually, I THOUGHT they were going through their feed pretty quickly! Yikes! :eek:

4. oakwood

oakwood New Member

No , they should have access to water and food at all times , they are growing girls .
    They will soon be in lay and need plenty of feed to produce good quality eggs .
    If they were full grown and laying ,i would worm them .

5. Happeesupermom

So then, it's NORMAL for their crop to be full? I've only usually checked them during the day (late afternoon, mostly), so I haven't noticed that their crop is NOT full.

6. patlet

patlet New Member