Plastic vs metal heated waterer?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering' started by Lady_Alia, Nov 27, 2012.

1. Lady_Alia

Lady_Alia New Member

I've read several places that you shouldn't use a plastic heated waterer that I need to get metal. Why?

2. 7chicks

7chicks New Member

Good question. One I used for a few years is plastic and I never had any problems. You have me wondering too now.

3. HarleyDog

HarleyDog New Member

Well, I'm no expert, but am always leery of such blanket guidance. Sometimes things like this are based on semi-factual but possibly irrelevant issues (or rumors) such as some types of plastic leeching chemicals into the water, which morphs into a "don't use plastic" umbrella statement. But I'd think most every substance does that to some degree. Water is the "universal solvent" after all. So, your water vessels should be made of stone and bamboo, sealed only with the pitch of the Peruvian Mahogany tree. Now you're all wondering even more, eh?