Noob Here-Should I?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by SharonaZamboni, Jul 16, 2012.

1. SharonaZamboni

SharonaZamboni New Member

I've been wanting chickens for years. My dad had some, but I don't remember much about their care.

Proper flock size...for some eggs and cuteness. Not planning on a rooster. We'll see if I can bring myself to raise eating birds:).

How far will they wander? Must I round them up at night, or do they generally head in, so they can be secured? I have about 3/4 acre open, with wooded areas, making 1.3 acres.

What is required for wintering re: heating? Will I need to shovel snow for room to run? Or how big a coop will suffice for 5-6 hens during winter?

2. Apyl

Apyl New Member

Hi and Welcome. :)
    If your only wanting eggs and cuteness I would get at least 1 chicken per family member. Your 1.3 acres is quit sufficient for them to free range. Yes your chickens will head to the coop on their own unless they find a tree they like, then you either get them down or leave them there lol. I currently have 4 hens that really love my Red Pine I have in the yard. As soon as its dusty dark they go up high, sometimes I throw a football in the tree and thew all jump out and head to the coop and sometimes they dont and just stay in the tree all night. As for the winter, sure you could heat them but its not needed as long as you get cold hardy birds. I'm in wisconsin and have no plan to heat our coop. I will keep a shovel near it so I can shovel out a path for them to get out but thats about it. I believe the general rule of thumb is 4 sq feet per bird if they need to spend extended time in the coop closed up, but really you can do what works for you. I have a 10x10 A frame that houses 7 standard pullets, 4 silkies, 7 mallard ducks, and 2 large ducks. So far everyone has plenty of room and roost space.

3. Marengoite

Marengoite Junior Member