I need some advice for my pullets!

Discussion in 'Chick Raising Forum' started by karina, Nov 4, 2012.

1. karina

karina New Member

Hi ya'll im new to having chickens. I have 2 barred rock 10 week old chickens. I live in Virginia and I was just wondering how their bodies know to bring in some thick feathers. I have them outside in a coop i made and i cover it with a double folded tarp just to make sure so drafts get in there. I have them off the ground and put cardboard, leaves and some straw in the bottom to keep them warm. Will they be okay? Thanks!

2. sandra

sandra New Member

How many do you have? Their kinda young.

3. Bird_slave

Bird_slave Junior Member

Hi Karina and welcome to the forum.

Ten weeks is a bit on the young side, but under normal circumstances chickens should not need heat past the five to six weeks old mark. Whenever I hear of someone getting a few chickens I can't help but encourage them to get at least three at a minimum. Chickens are very social creatures. If you have only a pair and one, goodness forbid, should die, you are left with a very lonely chicken that could grieve themselves to death.

However, you only have two so let's see what you can do to keep them more comfortable with winter coming on. Part of it Mother Nature is going to take care of. She equips birds with the instincts and feathers they need in time for cold weather. If they were mine, I would add a thick layer of pine shavings (preferable) or hay to the floor of their coop. A box within the coop that they can huddle together in would help too; covered kitty litter pans with some hay or shavings in the bottom work great for this. You'd want to use hay, not straw. Hay is a solid shaft, straw is hollow and in that hollow part mold spores easily form. Also, it needs to be PINE shavings, not cedar. The aromatic oils in cedar can cause respiratory problems in chickens.