Help! Roo or pullet silkie???

Discussion in 'What Breed/Gender is This?' started by NSWSNYDER, Jul 24, 2012.

1. NSWSNYDER

NSWSNYDER New Member

Hi all! I'm new to silkies and am not sure about this little one. She/he is 8 weeks old.

Attached Files:

2. sharkbait

sharkbait New Member

Can't help you out with the sex but that is a cool looking chick. I didn't like them at first but they are growing on me lol

3. thespiralandthelotus

thespiralandthelotus New Member

Not a clue! I find silkies impossible to sex

4. Apyl

Apyl New Member

Silkies mature very slowly and 8 weeks is way to young to know girl from boy. As of right now if I guessed I would say boy because the shape poof on top of the head BUT there is still plenty of time for it to change shape and look. I would get closer to 14ish weeks and post another pic.

5. silkieboy123

silkieboy123 New Member

I would say henn bc it don't have the waddle on its nose but that might come in and u might get a roo

6. luvinmychickens

luvinmychickens New Member

Umm, the waddles are under their beaks, and their combs are on top, just FYI! All of my ladies have combs and waddles! (; (; (;

7. adorson

adorson New Member

They are very hard to sex and then sometimes when you think you know, they surprise me like my girl named Charlie did! LOL She developed wattles and comb very early and I was sure she was a he but she surprised me with and egg at 4 months old which is also kind of young for a silkie to lay. You might have to wait until it is 3 months or even older to tell for sure. My guess right now would be girl due to no wattles yet and the slight curve in the beak. You will have to let us know for sure when it gets older!

8. ladycat

ladycat Chicken Mafioso

Silkies are just about impossible to sex until they start laying or crowing.

9. ItsieBitsieFarm

ItsieBitsieFarm Professional Egg Stacker :)

Looks like a cockerel, to me.

10. fuzziebutt

fuzziebutt Flocker

Me too!