Help! Need advice on coop flooring

Discussion in 'Coops, Runs and Housing' started by kiwicsi, Sep 27, 2012.

1. kiwicsi

kiwicsi Junior Member

I will be putting my kitset coop together soon. It's one of those moveable ones so I can place it in different spots in the back yard (we live in an urban area). As far as I can tell, the run part has no actual "floor" so the chooks will be able to forage from the lawn. But on the inside, in the actual "henhouse" I want to know what I should use on the floor. Internet research has shown pine shavings to be popular. How thick do I need to spread it and how often will I need to remove the poopy shavings and replace with fresh ones? And can I use hay or lucerne chaff in the nesting boxes? (Apparently lucerne chaff is low in dust?)

Any advice is very welcome. I'm a newbie and want to get it right from the start. :)

2. Sundancers

Sundancers New Member

I think it is a personal choice...

You have some folks that say never use this or that but... I use straw or pine shaving for the floor and cedar :)eek:) in the nest box and I have done so for over 30 years.

Straw I get for free and the pine a little of nothing. I spot clean when needed and twice a year (spring & fall)... do a good cleaning.

Best of luck ...

Last edited: Sep 27, 2012

3. amandahalterman

amandahalterman Junior Member

I use shavings for the floor and nest boxes, and I spot clean once a wk, and do a complete clean out once a mth,

4. CountryMama

CountryMama Junior Member

How big is the house itself? And what is the floor made of? Wood? You'll have to take that into account because you won't want it to be wet and potentially moldy.