Hello from Southern NJ!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Roseann, Jul 31, 2012.

1. Roseann

Roseann Junior Member

Just joined...figured I'd hop in here. I am fairly new to chickens. We have only 3 hens that we got back in April. We started with a Mobile coop/hen-house. Since then we started to let our girls...free range. They LOVE it and we love them. They currently give us 3 eggs a day which is more than enough for our family of 4.

Glad to have others of "like-mind" to chat with on this new and uncharted territory.

2. 7chicks

7chicks New Member

Hi Roseann! I started the same way with my chickens for housing 2 years ago. Now that coop tractor has been my back up 3 times since adding 3 new hens over the past 2 summers and lately an occasional retreat for my much pecked on australorp. Since where I live its cold for over 1/2 the year, they have a main insulated, heated coop to stay in. During the day though, that old coop has been getting a lot of use now. Ummm, hubby left me to go to a fur/feather swap Saturday unsupervised and I ahhh sorta found this sweet little 5 mo. old Araucana hen that I just "had" to bring home ... :D

Hope you enjoy the site here. Lots of comradery I've found on this site.

3. rob

rob New Member

hello and welcome. :)

4. Energyvet

Energyvet New Member

Hello from Monmouth county NJ.

5. seiuchin

seiuchin seiuchin

Hi, I am fairly new on this site. We got 3 chicks March 31. Thay have not started laying yet (17 weeks old) but they should be laying by the end of this month. Hope they lay in their nest box.

6. Tony-O

Tony-O New Member

Born & raised in S. Jersey. Relocated to Oklahoma where I love it. Welcome to the Chicken Forum.

7. Energyvet

Energyvet New Member

Where on South Jersey, Tony O? I'm from North Jersey originally. Now from Central Jersey.

8. Tony-O

Tony-O New Member

Born in Camden, raised in Erial. :cool: Know where that is? :) I bet'cha don't. :D

9. Energyvet

Energyvet New Member