Heat or no heat?

Discussion in 'Coops, Runs and Housing' started by ba13, Dec 1, 2012.

1. ba13

ba13 New Member

This is my first time having chickens. I am wondering what to do about heat during the winter. I have three ladies who seem to be doing fine with nothing right now, but I live in Wisconsin , it's gonna get coooooold. The advice I've gotten has been all over the place, and both these people claimed the roosters they sold me hens. Confidence level low. Suggestions ? Thanks.

2. toybarons

toybarons I luv Polish & Houdans

I'm in Alberta, Canada around Edmonton which is one of the northern cities of my country. It can get as cold as -30C which is around -20F. Very cold. When I first began with chickens over 10 years ago, my thought was insulate that coop and keep it warm, warm, warm. I was wrong, wrong, wrong. I found I lost birds by trying to be kind.

Chickens need a coop that is free of drafts. Drafts can kill a chicken faster than what the cold itself can. That's because chickens have their own insulation, their feather and down. My birds can tolerate -10C [15 F] pretty well.
    When it gets colder we then switch on heat lights. These are just regular heat lights you would use to provide heat for your chicks. You should take steps to secure the lights. You don't want the chickens to come into direct contact with them incase the knock the lights to the ground as they can start a fire. Another reason is a chicken can burn their comb if it comes in contact with the bulb.

I know some people who use heaters to heat the coop. This may seem like a good idea at first, but if you do you need to be prepared for a back up. If you have a power failure in the middle of the night, your birds will be exposed to cold. Even a brief time in severe cold can cause a bird to become sick and devlope a CRD. In my opinion, by allowing your birds to adjust to the cold it makes them 'cold hardy' and actually benefits the birds in the long run.