First post

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by guineafowlSA, Sep 25, 2012.

1. guineafowlSA

guineafowlSA Junior Member

I am new to keeping chickens and last May started 20 laying hens - make that 19 since we recently discovered that Phyllis is in fact Phil. I deliberately chose different breeds, hoping that they would all get along as well as look attractive. We have converted two unused large stables each with a big outdoor run with a couple of spruce trees at the end of one. They spend all their time under the spruce trees. I have four of each of Buff Orpingtons, Light Brahmas, Australorps, Ameracaunas and Silver Laced Wyandottes. They are all quite beautiful but the Orps are certainly the most friendly along with the Ameracaunas (they all have started laying miniature eggs now). The Wyandottes seem to be lowest in the pecking order although not above pecking back . One of the Light Brahma is Top Hen. Unfortunately our sole rooster Phil is being a henpecked husband - literally! He has lost all the feathers round his neck due to the unwanted attentions of a couple of the hens and currently is languishing in a stable all by himself, very sad, while I hope he can recover. Anyone else heard of a henpecked rooster? He is a very benign
    boy and very shy.

2. MatthewBK

MatthewBK Chicken Lover

Ohhhh yes. My Phoenix rooster is extremely henpecked. He won't even peck a fly on them, but they could peck him allll day long. He's currently separated from his ladies, too.

3. 7chicks

7chicks New Member

What a beautiful choice of breeds you picked! Please post some pics when you have a chance. :D We LOVE chicken pics! Poor Phil. My Lilah (Australorp) sympathesizes with him. ;)

4. guineafowlSA

Henpecked Light Brahma rooster