fighting chickens.

Discussion in 'Behavior & Flock Management' started by rob, Jun 20, 2012.

1. rob

rob New Member

i am new to this chicken keeping malarky so i have a question.
    i have 3 pullets a silkie a light sussex and a clydach clocker. two of them have been fighting the last couple of days, nothing much just facing off to each other and a quick squable. is this normal? the birds have been together for about 4 days.

2. Berta

Berta New Member

Sounds like they are working out a pecking order, totally normal.

3. rob

rob New Member

i thought thats what it might be, thanks for the reassurance.

4. LdMorgan

LdMorgan New Member

Yah--sounds normal. If you have space, I'd recommend you add another pullet. Chickens count to three real well, and seem to obsess over the pecking order when there are only two other contestants. A flock of four or more will usually be a lot calmer.

5. JackAubrey

JackAubrey New Member

Yep, they are trying to establish the pecking order. Office politics ,even in the chicken coop ! JA

6. piglett

piglett Senior Member

get a few more, it's hard to have too many :)

7. Apyl

Apyl New Member

I agree with the othe posts, its just pecking order. Plus you need more lol.

8. weirdo

weirdo New Member

Is it typical to have them fight?

9. rob

rob New Member

im realy tempted to get another one to make it a nice round 4 :)

10. LdMorgan

LdMorgan New Member

Chickens will squabble from time to time as whoever is higher on the pecking order defends their status from upstart interlopers.

They'll also squabble over food, when stealing nice treats from each other.

They almost never have knock-down drag-out fights, roosters excepted.

However: you have to be careful adding new hens to the flock. Especially if they are younger or smaller. The other hens will gang up on the new one and beat it into submission--as low hen on the totem pole.