Beginner with no chicks(yet!)

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by kathryndianne, Aug 24, 2012.

1. kathryndianne

kathryndianne New Member

Hi everyone!I haven't gotten any chickens yet but would like to start ,maybe,next spring.Where do I get info on how to start ,etc. and good "beginner chickens"(if there is such a kind!!!)All advice appreciated!!:)

2. 7chicks

7chicks New Member

I got a lot of my beginner info from the web-sites: My Pet Chicken and Backyard Chickens. Lots of great stuff on there. Easy starter breeds are many. I started with Rhode Island Reds and Barred Rock as day old chicks ordered from a local feed mill. Australorps, Isabrowns, and Orpingtons are good too. All are friendly, good with kids, winter hardy if you are in a cold area, and good foragers too. Depends on what you are looking for in a breed, where you're located, and time planned on spending with them.

3. BigECart

BigECart New Member

I'm a newbie too

I read the forums - this one, and backyard chickens. I read any post that catches my interest. To choose breeds, I started at My Pet Chicken and read up on the different breeds. I live in the deep south, have small children, and want to free range the flock on occasion. So I looked for heat hardy, friendly birds. I'm avoiding bantams as I probably won't be able to protect from hawks - my hope is that I'll have fewer losses with larger breeds. I have two acres, and am technically not allowed any chickens. Since I have the room for as many chickens as I want, and don't have a huge need for eggs, I think I will be better off with chickens that don't produce as many eggs as some of the more popular breeds. The hatchery breeds are bred for maximum egg production at the expense of long term health. Since I won't be eating my hens, long term health is a higher priority. Oh, and no roosters. I have read too many horror stories about small children and roosters.