You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of Chickenforum.com    

Photo of the Month Winner - poutrylover99

Chicken Forum > Chicken Raising Forums > Beginners Forum > Molting...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2012, 10:46 AM   #1
Mamachickof14

Liked 54 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 317

Default Molting...

This is my first year with chickens and I know * nothing * about molting...can you tell me what I need to know?? There must be other beginners that would like to know too! Thanks!! Jen

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2012, 11:00 AM   #2
Roslyn
A Round American Woman

Liked 233 Times on 167 Posts
Likes Given: 315

Feathers are primarily made up from protein. So when a chicken molts they will need a higher level of protein in their diets to grow a whole new outfit. You can add sunflower seeds to their diet, a small amount of dry cat food or even buy a bag of the middle of the road "grower" pellets/crumbs and mix that in their feed during the molt.

Every single chicken molts a little differnt. Some will just lose a feather here and there, and you will see them laying all over, but she never really looks naked because she loses a few and grows a few, so the molt will last longer. Since she is working hard her comb may lose it's color and she may be a little more lethargic from a lack of energy.

Some hens will molt quickly. You close up the coop at night and have fully clothed hens, and in the morning you open the door to a snowstorm of feathers and several plucked and walking chicken dinners walk past you!!!!!

Usually the quick molters may keep laying through the winter, but I have found with my older hen flock that once they molt, they are done laying until Spring when the light returns. Right now I have two hens who are 6, A small amount of 3 year olds and the rest are 2 1/2 years old. They have followed this pattern. I don't expect many eggs this Winter. I had to buy some for my Christmas baking last year.